The Waiting Place

Standard

You know that poem by Dr Seuss, ‘The Waiting Place’? Here’s an extract
The Waiting Place… …for people just waiting. Waiting for a train to go or a bus to come, or a plane to goor the mail to come, or the rain to go or the phone to ring, or the snow to snow or waiting around for a Yes or a No or waiting for their hair to grow. Everyone is just waiting.

It’s the way I feel now. I have felt that way quite a number of times but right now I feel like I am waiting for my life to start. And the subconscious fear is that while waiting it will end.
I apologize deeply for not updating this blog- especially to you Jemima, who was so concerned- I did not want to seem perpetually pessimistic hence my silence. I finally arrived at the inevtiable disillusionment stage on this job I have. But for stronger reasons than just unbridled expectations.

The offers of a car and a house seem to be fading farther and farther away. The house may still come into play but they decide how much they will give me as rent and I have to find a place within that budget on my own time and with my own money. So meanwhile and for the past 4months I have been living in a room in the office. The office is a 5 room duplex and I had to move a mattress into one of the rooms. (I am even embarrassed to say it.)And money has not really been the main issue: I, like a lot of important issues in the office, have not just been a priority.
I had a huge fight with my boss recently which resulted in him telling me that the plans he had for some funding fell through. But as soon as one of our clients paid I woild get the money for rent, and subsequently the money would be added in monthly installments to my salary. The car however he was silent on. But I think even if the funds were there the lack of structure in this place would ensure that I am overlooked.

But the worst part of this is the job I am doing. I am mostly sitting in the office attending to recalcitrant staff and paperwork. I am starving my soul.

So, anyone know where I can rent a 2 bedroom flat in the not-flooded areas of lekki, before the 3rd roubdabout for 1m? Agency and Legal fees inclusive?

In other news my baby, that gorgeous little squirt I gave birth to a short while ago, is starting school! And I paid the school fees!

Joie

One response »

  1. aww honey, its great to have you back, i am right there with you on the disillusionment on the job..it’s something that stops you in your tracks, honestly..i hope you can sort out your rent issues, you could try checking in Castles, we found our house there four years ago and also get the contacts of some agents.. that should make the search easier, as for your job, all i can say it i am also waiting for a lot of things too, job, another child direction the list is endless, just hang in there, please keep hope alive and keep healthy okay (hugs)

Leave a Reply

