Happy New Year/ Thank You

Standard

Joie is back.

I want to thank everyone who took out time to console me with their comments and/or emails. You have time for an anonymous stranger who may or may not exist; I appreciate it. Thanks especially to my ride or die chick, Sykik, and the master of words, Owi. You both know what you did. God bless you.

It is funny but I came to myself when I read my new year’s post of last year. The answer was before me all the time and I did not see it. This is why I like to document my experiences, not for now but for the future and for posterity. As I read that post and remembered the benefits a renewed mindset brought me I also remembered various situations when things turned around unexpectedly and miraculously.In truth there is nothing God cannot do. I have also been listening to and watching people with inspirational stories and I learnt these few things:

1. You cannot give up. Do not close the chapter for yourself because God will not close it for you. Things can turn around in a split second. It is okay to cry and mourn but do not park your future at that spot. A lot of the time you need to be broken down to be built up.

2.Be anxious for nothing. This is a biblical quote which comes as an order for Christians for reasons best known to God, but for me it is the most sensible, healthy advice ever. It prevents hypertension, ans stress. Why worry when you have no control? Worrying has no effect on external objects

3. Believe. In whatever it is that anchors your faith. Or as Owi puts it, ‘reference your centre of gravity’. Several people over a couple of days pasted this same excerpt from the bible and I know when the universe is sending a subliminal message, so I took it to heart. The passage is Isaiah 40:27 – 31. It is a popular verse but the MSG translation – which coincidentally everyone was posting- spoke powerfully to me. It is reprinted below with the parts that spoke to me in bold

Why would you ever complain, O Jacob,
    or, whine, Israel, saying,
God has lost track of me.
    He doesn’t care what happens to me”?
Don’t you know anything? Haven’t you been listening?
God doesn’t come and go. God lasts.
    He’s Creator of all you can see or imagine.
He doesn’t get tired out, doesn’t pause to catch his breath.
    And he knows everything, inside and out.
He energizes those who get tired,
    gives fresh strength to dropouts.
For even young people tire and drop out,
    young folk in their prime stumble and fall.
But those who wait upon God get fresh strength.
    They spread their wings and soar like eagles,
They run and don’t get tired,
    they walk and don’t lag behind.

I saw a woman today with 8 children, 4 out of which are special needs kids. What is even more distressing is that they are all grown but still have to be taken care of like babies. Four grown kids that did not really grow, and 8 mouths to feed! Needless to say she and her husband were living in penury and had been for years.And I thought I had problems…

I am grateful to God that I gave birth to a healthy, active child, despite the numerous issues. I am grateful that I have a support network to take care of her. I am grateful that I am not impaired in any way and I can still go out and attempt to pursue my dreams. That, I am Joie.

So, for this year, I have some dreams and I will strive, work hard and pray hard to achieve them; that is my worship to God.

I want to move to my own house, not necessarily owned by me but at least paid for by me, for me. A nice, neat, well- constructed place in a serene neighbourhood, with light and water. At least to the extent that is possible in Nigeria.

I want to create (a) stream(s)of income from the ventures that I have identified as my passion. I want them to go beyond paper and planning and into reality and fruition.

I want to bring my daughter and mother on a holiday.

He’s Creator of all you can see or imagine.

So help me God.

I pray that you all have a great year of learning,of progress, of amazing achievements. Happy New Year

Joie

4 responses »

  1. Hello Joie,

    I’m glad you have been both encouraged and able to encourage yourself. Wishing you a better 2015, and I hope you can achieve your goals and dreams and that your health improves and continues to improve.

    Have a lovely blessed week.
    XXX

  2. “master of words” making me sound like Dickens or Soyinka 🙂 … One inch at a time and you will definitely get there.

    Dont forget to celebrate the smallest victories and keep doing you.

  3. May all your wishes come true. I say from your mouth to God’s ears. I am happy to read a post filled with so much hope and warmth, it’s a good way to start the year

    Happy new year Dearie

Leave a Reply

